The New York Genome Center (NYGC) is an independent, nonprofit academic research institution focused on furthering genomic research that leads to scientific advances and new insights and therapies for patients with neurodegenerative disease, neuropsychiatric disease, and cancer. Leveraging our strengths in whole genome sequencing, genomic analysis, and development of genomic tools, the NYGC serves as a nexus for collaboration in genomic research for the New York community and beyond.

NYGC harnesses and builds on the combined strengths of our faculty, member institutions, scientific working groups, affiliate members, and industry partners to advance genomic discovery. Central to our scientific mission is an outstanding faculty who are leading independent research labs based at the NYGC and jointly with one of our member institutions, bringing a multidisciplinary and in-depth approach to the field of genomics.

To learn more about NYGC,
read our A Year in Review 2018.


Mary-Claire King, PhD, Joins the New York Genome Center as Senior Associate Core Member

An internationally renowned geneticist, Dr. King will provide scientific leadership in the genetics of neuropsychiatric disease. Dr. King has focused on the genetics of schizophrenia, and her pioneering research has contributed to the understanding of complex disease inheritance. Dr. King is the American Cancer Society Professor in the Departments of Genome Sciences and Medicine at the University of Washington in Seattle.


New Method ANEVA Detects Genetic Expression Disruptors, Improves Diagnosis of Rare Disease

In a new study published on October 10 in Science, researchers from New York Genome Center, Columbia University, and Scripps Research Institute describe ANEVA (analysis of expression variation), a new computational method to identify genes where genetic variants disrupt gene expression in patients and improve the diagnosis of rare genetic disease. The study was led by Pejman Mohammadi, PhD, a former postdoctoral scientist at the New York Genome Center and Columbia University and now an assistant professor at the Scripps Research Institute, and supervised by Tuuli Lappalainen, PhD, core faculty member at the New York Genome Center and an assistant professor at Columbia University.


Developing New Genomic Tools & Technologies

Genotyping of Transcriptomes (GoT), is a new genomic method that has important implications for investigating cells within genetically heterogeneous populations, such as tumors. GoT was developed in a research collaboration jointly supervised at the New York Genome Center (NYGC) by Core Faculty Member Dan Landau, MD, PhD, who holds a joint appointment at Weill Cornell Medicine, and Peter Smibert, PhD, Senior Manager, NYGC Technology Innovation Lab.

The NYGC Technology Innovation Lab is a dedicated incubator within the NYGC comprised of a multidisciplinary team in which staff scientists and faculty, as well as many research collaborators, can explore and test breakthrough genomic tools and ideas.



Furthering Scientific Inquiry

Our outstanding faculty and staff scientists are recognized as innovators in the field, and in the last five years have published over 200 papers in leading scientific journals helping to advance genomic science. They have received many awards and honors, including three prestigious NIH New Innovator Awards. Their important research has provided new insights, including the discovery of dozens of new genes that create cancer resistance and hundreds of genes that impact the human immune system. NYGC researchers have also contributed to uncovering new genetic signatures for autism, the identification of a novel gene associated with ALS, and a better understanding of the mechanisms and progression of ALS.


NYGC's Affiliate Member Program and Scientific Working Groups

Learn More

Our Member Institutions

Institutional Founding Members

Institutional Associate Members